Here goes…

Hello everyone! Ooh, maybe that’s a bit presumptuous, I mean, ‘everyone’? Really?

Hello any possible readers! Yeah, but that sounds a bit pathetic…

Hello!! (Much better.)

I’m Thicker Than Your Average. The pun being on the name of that never-to-be-forgotten Craig David album, ‘Slicker than Your Average’, except that I’ve changed the word, ‘Slicker’ to ‘Thicker’. Because I’m chunky. Get it? It’s clever stuff, this…

This blog is an attempt to track/record/pin down my weight loss efforts. I suppose it’s more of a diary. That I’ve left unlocked. On the Internet. Shit. Anyway, I shall give it a go in the hope that it keeps me on track and maybe, just maybe, makes a couple of people smile/relate/sympathise after a long hard day of ‘being good’.

It’s a bizarre thing, weight loss. You can want it more than anything else in the whole world – and yet it’s more difficult to do than anything else in the whole world. Hmm. See, when it comes to other areas of my life, I’m very determined/annoying; when I wanted a degree, I worked-(ish) for it, when I wanted ‘that job’, I worked my ass off and got it, when I wanted to go to NYC, I made it happen and – above all else – when I wanted a Chanel 2.55 bag, I made it my mission to get it.*

*OK, so, honestly, I’m still working on this one. In my defence, it takes a lot of saving (and creeping around the BF) – but you get the idea…

So why, when it comes to weight loss, does all my steely motivation melt into total submission? I don’t know. Sometimes I think I do. Sometimes I agree with all the psychologists and think ‘Yep, it must be emotional – food is a crutch in my life’, then I stop and think ‘Get a grip, you just like your grub’, then I wonder if its genetic? Then I ponder is it a disease? (Granted, this last thought is on my dramatic days) And all I can conclude is that maybe it’s a mix of all of the above – OK, except the last one. Thankfully, I don’t think there are any deep-rooted underlying problems that need to be addressed first – maybe I’m just greedy?

Anyway, whatever the reason (maybe it will reveal itself throughout this blog?), I’m ready to change. I almost ‘changed’ last summer, thanks to the rather UNBELIEVABLE Paul McKenna and the ‘I Can Make You Thin’ programme. This changed how I ate, it changed how I thought, I’ve NEVER felt better about myself, I lost a shed load of weight and I honestly don’t think I’ve ever been happier with myself. Then I went on holiday, stopped following the programme and it all went a bit tits up. Having said that, even now, I haven’t put much weight back on (but I still have a long way to go) – and I still feel better about myself, in general, than I did before I tried the programme. But I’m desperate to get back on last summer’s high – it was like a drug. I was addicted to feeling good. And I let it go. *Sigh*.

The good news is that I can get that high back. It’s just a case of starting up the programme again. There’s a lot of other clever stuff that goes into the programme, but the Golden Rules are as follows:

  • When you are hungry, EAT!
  • Eat what you WANT – not what you think you should
  • Eat CONSCIOUSLY and ENJOY every mouthful (never had a problem with this ‘rule’, to be honest :-P)
  • When you think you’re full, STOP.

And that’s it. It’s pretty obvious, really, isn’t it? But Big Mac, as I so fondly call this genius, puts it across in such a way that the penny just drops. The hypnosis CD is amazing, too. I listened every night before I went to sleep and, whilst to this day, I couldn’t recall one bit of what he said (in my conscious mind, anyway), something must have gone in – because every day I woke up feeling a bit better than the day before. It made me sleep better, too.

So, that’s what I’m aiming to do this year. Get back on to the Paul McKenna ‘I Can Make You Thin’ programme and let him work his magic. I’ve got the book, the journal, the CD and the app, so, after spending a small fortune, I’m good to go 🙂

I live in Liverpool (quite possibly my favourite place in the whole world) and work in Manchester (not bad). This means that I leave for work super-early and get home quite late, which makes it difficult to fit in exercise. This isn’t an excuse, it really does! So, I’ve cancelled my gym membership – there’s little point in paying all that money, then feeling guilty for never using it. The nights are getting a little lighter as spring (very slowly) creeps in and I’m hoping to tackle the Couch to 5k programme. Take a look here to find out more about the programme. It looks tough – but do-able. Bring. It. On.

So, I think that’s about everything! Well, in weight loss world, anyway. In case you’re interested, here’s a brief little summary about the other areas of my life:

  • I have the best boyfriend in the world – 5.5 years and counting!
  • I adore my family.
  • My circle of friends – though small – is amazing.
  • I work in internet marketing/advertising and am hoping to complete my distance learning Masters in Creative Advertising this year.  
  • I’m getting more and more obsessed by football :-/
  • I couldn’t live without music.
  • I ADORE clothes, spend pretty much all my money on them and, when I’m not buying them, I’m probably thinking about them.
  • I love to travel – city breaks rock my world 🙂 My favourite place – apart from Liverpool – is Amsterdam. It’s beautiful, seedy in the most interesting way, friendly and bizarre.
  • I’m loud. Very loud. And annoying. And loud. But (so I’m told) lovable! 😛

So, that’s me in a nutshell! Please wish me luck with what I hope to be the year that I finally ‘crack it’. The year that sees me whipping out my pins in summer, rather than hiding them in tights, the year that sees me looking forward to holidays rather than dreading the bikinis that go with them, the year that sees me, once and for all, happy with my body 🙂

Lots of love! xxx

Leave a Reply

